Friday, April 4, 2014

Janata Dal (United) -CPI alliance appears robust

The Mahadalits who constitute about 13 % of voters in Bihar and 17 % of the Extremely Backward Castes constitute the backbone of Janata Dal (United) -Communist Party of India (CPI) alliance. This alliance is likely to be a key constituent of post -election Federal Front.

While it is true that JDU was with BJP for 17 years but it is also true that JDU being the senior partner had managed to steer in the secular direction. Besides even the critics of JDU concede that jungle raj of RJD-Congress alliance had left JDU with no option but to ally with BJP to set law and order situation in Bihar on course.      

They who cite JDU's defeat in Maharajganj by-election forget that the defeat happened when BJP was still part of the coalition government. In fact had JDU severed ties ahead of Maharajganj by-election, Muslims would have ensured its victory. It was an early indication for JDU to break ties with BJP for electoral victory. Women voters in general are likely to vote for JDU.

CPI's performance in Begusarai and Banka is likely to add to its tally. Aam Aadmi Party's Arun Kumar is a late entrant in Begusarai's electoral battle and may grab a significant chunk non-CPI votes. AAP could have done better by taking advantage of the infighting within local unit of CPI but sources have revealed that the differences between CPI Candidate Rajendra Prasad Singh and former CPI MP Shatrughan Prasad Singh who had resigned from the party on the issue ticket distribution has been sorted out after the intervention of CPI's central leadership.

A rally of CPI in Banka on April 4 appeared a resounding success signalling the victory of Sanjay Kumar, the CPI candidate. The sitting independent MP from Banka, Putul Devi, a BJP candidate had won in the last elections due to sympathy wave after the death of her husband Digvijay Singh, the then MP from Banka. JDU had not fielded any candidate from Banka. This time JDU is in alliance with CPI.

Even if CPI ML Liberation's candidate Raju Yadav wins in Ara and Amarnath Yadav in Siwan, JDU-CPI is likely to win more seats for the 16th Lok Sabha than it did in the last Lok Sabha. JDU is currently the fifth largest party in the 15th Lok Sabha with 20 seats. 

Notably, of the 23 candidates announced by the CPI ML Liberation, four are female and eight youth leaders.

The candidates are: Rameshwar Prasad (Pataliputra), Rajaram Singh (Karakat), Raju Yadav (Ara), Amarnath Yadav (Siwan), Shashi Yadav (Nalanda), Ramadhar Singh (Jehanabad), Mehboob Alam (Katihar), Col Lakshmeshwar Mishra (Darbhanga), Lalbahadur Sada (Samastipur), Shatrughan Sahni (Muzaffarpur), Rinky (Bhagalpur), Jainarayan Yadav (Supaul), Pankaj Singh (Purnia), Sanjay Rishidev (Araria), Phool Babu Singh (Ujiyarpur), Dhruvnarayan Karn (Madhubani), Indu Devi (Buxar), Niranjan Kumar (Gaya), Jayaparakash Das (Jamui), Netra Devi (Sasaram), Virendra Prasad Gupta (Valmikinagar), Sunil Kumar Rao (Pashchim Champaran) and Jitendra Paswan (Gopalganj).

In the post-election scenario, CPI ML Liberation will have to decide whether or not it will be part of the Federal Front.

No comments: