Saturday, March 1, 2014

Shahabad set to witness contest of JDU & CPI ML Liberation, RJD disintegrates

Bihar has 40 MPs for the Lok Sabha. In the 2009 polls, JDU got 20 seats and the BJP got 12. A Mukhiya in a district of Shahabad region has underlined that voters who are not members of any political party across caste have a soft corner for JDU which has entered into an alliance with CPI and CPIM. With regard to voters' dominant mood in Shahabad, he explained that at present it is divided between CPIML Liberation and JDU.      

Meanwhile, CPI (ML) Liberation has released its first list of 10 candidates for the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. Rameshwar Prasad, former MP is its candidate from Patliputra. Shashi Yadav is contesting from from Nalanda. She has been in the women' rights movement. Rinki is to contest from Bhagalpur. She is the state president of All India Students Association (AISA). 

Rajaram Singh, the former MLA is the candidate from Karakat, former AISA state president Raju Yadav from Ara, Ramadhar Singh from Jehanabad, Central Committee member and former MLA Mehboob Alam from Katihar, Col Lakshmeshwar Mishra from Darbhanga, Lalbahadur Sada from   Samastipur and Shatrughan Sahni from Muzaffarpur.
CPI (ML) Liberation supports the demand for special status to Bihar but argues that NDA government of which both JDU and BJP were part should have given it at the time of the partition of Bihar in 2000. The party is expected to contest 24 LS seats in the state. Its polit bureau is likely to decide and announce other names in the first week of March.

BJP has already given 10 seats to its allies in Bihar-7 seats to Ram Vilas Paswan's party and 3 seats to Upendra Kushwaha's party. This is an admission by the party that it could not have won these seats on its own. It is noteworthy that BJP got the following 12 seats in the last elections.
 1. Bhola Singh - Nawada
 2. Hari Manjhi -Gaya
 3. Hukmdev Narayan Yadav- Madhubani 4. Kirti (Jha) Azad-Darbhanga
 5. Nikhil Kumar Choudhary-Katihar
 6. Pradeep Kumar Singh-Araria
 7. Radha Mohan Singh-Purvi Champaran
 8. Rama Devi-Sheohar
 9. Sanjay Jaiswal-Paschim Champaran 
10. Shatrughan Sinha-Patna Sahib
 11. Syed Shahnawaz Hussain-Bhagalpur
 12. Uday Singh-Purnia       

Following are the seats won by JDU:
1 Arjun Rai -    Sitamarhi
2 Ashwamedh Devi - Ujiarpur
3 Baidyanath Prasad Mahto - Valmiki Nagar
4 Bhudeo Choudhary -  Jamui
5 Dinesh Chandra Yadav -Khagaria
6 Jagdish Sharma-    Jahanabad
7 Jainarain Prasad Nishad -Muzaffarpur
8 Kaushalendra Kumar-    Nalanda
9 Mahabali Singh-    Karakat
10 Maheshwar Hazari-    Samastipur
11 Mangani Lal Mandal-    Jhanjharpur
12 Meena Singh-    Arrah
13 Monazir Hassan -  Begusarai
14 Purnmasi Ram-  Gopalganj
15 Rajiv Ranjan (Lalan) Singh-Munger
16 Ram Sundar Das-Hajipur
17 Ranjan Prasad Yadav-Pataliputra
18 Sharad Yadav-Madhepura
19 Sushil Kumar Singh-Aurangabad   
20. Vishwa Mohan Kumar -Supaul
RJD has Jagdanand Singh from Buxer, Prabhunath Singh from Saran and Raghuvansh Pd Singh from Vaishali. Laloo Prasad Yadav was elected but has been barred from contesting elections by court verdict in the fodder scam case. He is currently out on bail. The party's disintegration is just a matter of time. Out of 22 MLAs of RJD, 13 MLAs including Samrat Chaudhary, who is Chief Whip of the RJD in the State Assembly submitted their intention to the Speaker, Bihar Vidhan Sabha. Amidst high drama, 9 of these MLAs were seemingly retrieved by Abdul Bari Siddiqui, RJD legislature party leader and Laloo Yadav but 4 MLAs Raghvendra Pratap Singh, the MLA from Barahara, Samrat Choudhary, the MLA from Parbatta, Javed Iqbal Ansari and Akhtarul Islam have resisted all efforts and bullying so far.  Samrat Chaudhary is likely to contest from Khagaria Lok Sabha seat. Raghvendra Pratap Singh and Akhtarul Islam are possible candidates from Ara and Kisanganj.

While Abdul Bari Siddiqui is keen on fighting Lok Sabha elections from Madhubani, RJD's offer of 11 seats to Congress, 1 to NCP might axe his chances. This will have its own ripple effect. Meanwhile, Shivananad  Tiwari who was expelled recently from JDU has praised RJD leader Abdul Bari Siddiqui for shunning the lure of Deputy Chief Minister post from JD(U) and offer to contest either Lok Sabha or go to Rajya Sabha.

No comments: