Saturday, June 21, 2014

Dissident of JDU MLAs to face disciplinary action

JD(U)'s newly elected Rajya Sabha members Pawan Kumar Verma (L) and Ghulam Rasool Balyavi (Photo:PTI Photo)

A report on the 18 MLAs for not voting for official candidates and instigating others to vote against them was submitted to the party for disciplinary action, Shrawan Kumar.  Kumar, JD(U) Chief Whip in the State Assembly has submitted a report to the party president, Sharad Yadav, Chief Minister Jitan Ram Manjhi, state party chief Basistha Narayan Singh and former chief minister Nitish Kumar. Kumar is also the Parliamentary Affairs minister

As per the provision in the 10th Schedule of the Constitution, Kumar had issued whip to party legislators to vote for official candidates Pawan Kumar Verma and Ghulam Rasool Balyavi in the Rajya Sabha poll. Verma got 122 votes against Anil Sharma’s 108, while Balyawi bagged 123 votes against Sabir Ali’s 107. Out RJD's 21 MLAs, 18-19 MLAs voted in support of JDU.

Out of the a total of 230 MLAs who voted in the bypolls. It has been reported that 2 MLAs of RJD and 2 MLAs of Congress cross-voted. In the 232-member Bihar Assembly, JD(U) has 117 MLAs including the Speaker, BJP has 84, the Congress has 4 MLAs, Communist Party of India (CPI) has 1 MLA and there are 5 independent MLAs

The dissident MLAs of JDU led by Gyanendra Singh Gyanu, MLA from Barh in Patna district appeared cornered in the current situation. Besides Gyanu, the dissidents MLAs like Poonam Devi, Ajit Kumar, Anil Kumar, Ravindra Rai, Amla Devi, Sujata Devi, Rahul Sharma, Gajanand Prasad Shahi, JD (U) MLA from Barbigha, Daud Ali, MLA from Dumraon, Raju Kumar Singh, Anil Kumar, Renu Kumari Kushwaha, Neeraj Kumar Bablu, Dinesh Kuswaha, Rajesh Singh and Krishnananad Paswan are all set to face disciplinary action.

Notably, BJP MLAs Munni Devi, Asha Devi, Kanhaiya Rajbhar, Shivesh Kumar, Sanjay Singh Tiger, Nitin Navin and Bhumendra Narain Singh had co-signed the nomination paper of independent candidates. 

No comments: